Sunday, February 3, 2008

Skull Kontrol This Thursday And Cat Power "Jukebox" Listening Party

This Thursday @ Skull Kontrol we're having a listening party for the new Cat Power record, Jukebox. Jukebox will be played in it's entirety at 7pm with a "dollar off happy hour" (which takes place every M thru F @ Live Wire) and again at 9pm. We'll have cds to give away. Also we're going to have limited edition silver foil posters for ya. These posters are only going to be available on homegirl's upcoming tour and only a few were made up. Surely an ebay item in the making. What else we got....oh! just some stickers and postcards or whatever, courtesy of the fine folks at Matador Records.

After the album listening, count on having your ears all violated by the usual and unusual sounds of a Skull Kontrol club nite.

Jukebox tracklisting:

1. New York (Frank Sinatra)
2. Ramblin' (Wo)man (Hank Williams)
3. Metal Heart (Cat Power)
4. Silver Stallion (The Highwaymen)
5. Aretha, Sing One For Me (George Jackson)
6. Lost Someone (James Brown)
7. Lord, Help The Poor And Needy (Jessie Mae Hemphill)
8. I Believe In You (Bob Dylan)
9. Song To Bobby (Cat Power, written by Chan Marshall and Matt Sweeney)
10. Don't Explain (Billie Holiday)
11. Woman Left Lonely (Janis Joplin)
12. Blue (Joni Mitchell)

The names in parentheses are the best known performer of the song, not necessarily the songwriter. So don't get smart mouth with me.

No comments: